Fáilte chuig leinstergaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil Comhairle Laighean CLG

Crokes Cruise To Victory

November 5th, 2023

Kilmacud Crokes 1-12 Éire Óg 0-4

By Kieran Murphy at Netwatch Cullen Park

Kilmacud Crokes emerged easy winners of this Leinster senior football club quarter-final at Netwatch Cullen Park on Saturday.

Against potentially difficult opponents, the reigning AIB All-Ireland senior club champions played a patient game with young and relatively inexperienced side still learning their trade.

Within two minutes a free from Shane Walsh and a point from play through Dara Mullin gave Kilmacud a degree of momentum. The latter added another point before Éire Óg opened their account with Benny Kavanagh coming forward from deep and firing the ball over the crossbar.

The home team had enough possession, but their danger men up front were struggling to gain a foothold in the game.

In the meantime, Kilmacud picked off further points with Mullin and Dan O’Brien on the mark. Colm Hulton’s curled effort saw Éire Óg have a short period on top with Jordan Morrissey converting a free. They just failed to execute when further chances came their way.

Yet the Dublin champions were just that bit too clever and on several occasions in the half, the Carlow side were penalised for overcarrying. With half-backs Mark O’Leary and Andy McGowan both raising white flags, Kilmacud Crokes led 0-8 to 0-3 at the interval.

The second half was a mundane affair. Kilmacud were never going to lose from where they were. Brian Sheehy landed a point while Adam McCarron replied for the Carlow champions.

The game was in injury time when Éire Óg lost the ball going forward. The response was typical of Shane Walsh and after being put clear, he beat both the goalkeeper and a defender to net the only goal of the game.

Paul Mannion subsequently landed a point, while Jordan Morrissey was sent off after picking up two yellow cards.

Scorers for Kilmacud Crokes: Shane Walsh 1-2 (1f and 1 45), Dara Mullin 0-4, Andy McGowan 0-2, Dan O’Brien, Mark O’Leary, Brian Sheehy, Paul Mannion 0-1 each

Scorers for Éire Óg: Adam McCarron (f), Jordan Morrissey (f), Benny Kavanagh, Colm Hulton 0-1 each.

Kilmacud Crokes: David Higgins; James Murphy, Theo Clancy, Dan O’Brien; Cian O’Connor, Andy McGowan, Mark O’Leary; Brian Sheehy; Rory O’Carroll; Anthony Quinn; Paul Mannion, Dara Mullins; Hugh Kenny, Shane Cunningham, Shane Walsh.

Subs: Luke Ward for O’Connor (47), Darragh Dempsey for Kenny (54), Liam Flatman for O’Carroll (54), Tom Fox for Cunningham (54), Dan Murphy for Quinn (56).

Éire Óg: Johnny Furey; Cathal Kelly, Shane Buggy, Benny Kavanagh; Mark Behan, Mark Furey, Diarmuid Ruth; Jordan Morrissey, Murtough Ware; Kyle Nolan, Sean Gannon, David Dunphy; Colm Hulton, Ross Dunphy, Adam McCarron.

Subs: Lee Moore for Behan (26), Kelvin Chatten for D Dunphy (42), Kieran Nolan for Ruth (42), Josh Brady for McCarron (56), Eoghan Byrne for Kelly (59).

Referee: Fintan Pierce (Offaly).

Carlow GAA
Dublin GAA
Kildare GAA
Kilkenny GAA
Laois GAA
Longford GAA
Louth GAA
Meath GAA
Offaly GAA
Westmeath GAA
Wexford GAA
Wicklow GAA