Fáilte chuig leinstergaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil Comhairle Laighean CLG

St Kieran’s Reach Corn Uí Dhúill Final

January 28th, 2023

Leinster GAA Corn Uí Dhúill Semi-Final

St Kierans College          3-18

Coláiste Eoin                    2-10 

Robert Cribbin at Ardclough

St Kierans College are into the Leinster PP Senior Hurling Championship Final after an impressive display saw them run out 11 point winners over Dublin side Colaiste Eoin.

The Kilkenny city school are looking to win a first title since 2019 and the fact that they were able  to call on a pair of All-Ireland Senior Hurling Club winners with Shamrocks Ballyhale in Killian Corcoran and Niall Shortall as well as a Kilkenny senior panelist in Killian Doyle certainly shows the strength in depth at their disposal.

Colaiste Eoin remained competitive in the opening period but they never led over the course of the 60 minutes as St Kierans dominated for the majority of the game.

Anthony Ireland Wall and Jamie O’Conaire exchanged early efforts before a pointed free from Aaron McEvoy allowed Brian Dowling’s side take a 0-2 to 0-1 lead.

The most successful team in the history of the competition then took further control when Killian Doyle found Carlow and Mount Leinster Rangers player Donagh Murphy inside and after shaking off a few challenges, the corner forward buried a shot past Cillian O’Scallain in the Colaiste Eoin goal.

Colaiste Eoin replied with a Diarmaid O’Dulaing free and the full forward would go on to have a big game for the defeated side.

St Kierans then had another goal chance when Killian Doyle again proved instrumental when finding Ted Dunne and the Graignamanagh man was denied before Niall Shortall was also out of luck with a shot blocked on the line.

The winners were threatening to run away with the game at this juncture but the 2020 Leinster champions dug deep as the sides shared points to leave the Kilkenny school 1-6 to 0-5 ahead at the 20 minute mark.

Kierans ill-discipline and a fair bit of fussyness from the Kildare official then allowed O’Dulaing to hit back to back placed balls and all of a sudden Colaiste Eoin were within two points of their illustrious opponents.

The Kilkenny hurling nursery soon regained control when Sean Hunt grabbed possessionl of a loose ball and ran directly at goal before flicking the ball over the line.

Donagh Murphy then added to Kierans tally to make it a six point game but crucially Colaiste Eoin rallied when David Puirseil netted in first half stoppage time.

Aaron McEvoy added his fourth point of the half before the change of ends as St Kierans led 2-8 to 1-7 after a free flowing 30 minutes of hurling.

Freetakers McEvoy and O’Dulaing swapped scores at the start of the half but Colaiste Eoin then went through a barren spell of failing to score for 21 minutes and in that time Kierans reeled off 1-6 without reply in a period that essentially settled the game in their favour.

McEvoy, Anthony Ireland Wall and Ed McDermott all scored  two points apiece while sub Rory Glynn pounced for the third goal for the Kilkenny side.

Colaiste Eoin  did rally inside the final 10 minutes with O’Dulaing striking 1-2 from placed balls including a well taken 21 yard free goal but it was St Kierans day and Murphy, Glynn and Tomas Roche rounded off the resounding success with late insurance points.

St Kierans now move into the Leinster decider against Offaly Schools while Colaiste Eoin’s journey continues when they meet Good Counsel in an All-Ireland Preliminary Quarter-Final.

Scorers for St Kierans College- Aaron McEvoy (0-7, six frees), Donagh Murphy (1-2, one free), Rory Glynn (1-1), Sean Hunt (1-0), Anthony Ireland Wall (0-3), Ed McDermott (0-2), Ted Dunne, Niall Shortall, Tomas Roche (0-1 each)

Scorers for Colaiste Eoin- Diarmaid O’Dulaing (1-7, seven frees), David Puirseil (1-0), Jamie O’Conaire (0-2), Ciaran O’Donnabhain (0-1)

St Kierans College- Sean Manogue;  Bobby Murphy, Killian Corcoran, Tim Kelly; Bill Hughes, Jeff Neary, Paddy Naddy; Killian Doyle, Aaron McEvoy; Anthony Ireland Wall, Sean Hunt, Ed McDermott; Donagh Murphy, Ted Dunne, Niall Shortall. Subs- Rory Glynn for Hunt (43), Sean Keenan for Shortall (49), Tomas Roche for Ireland Wall (50), Cathal Hickey for Corcoran (55), Mark Holohan for McEvoy (58).

Colaiste Eoin- Cillian O’Scallain; Liam O’Cuanaigh, Dara O’Cinneide, Conor Mag Ruairc; Ruan O’Conchubhair, Conal O’Riain, Luc Breathnach; Aodhan Inglis, Gearoid O’Flannabhra; James O’hAmaill, Ciaran O’Donnabhain, Jamie O’Conaire; Breandan O’Cionnaith, Diarmaid O’Dulaing, David Puirseil. Subs- Padraig Mac Aogain for O’hAmaill (36), Oisin Mac Anna for O’Donnabhain 56 mins, Oisin O’Raghallaigh for Breathnach (56).

Referee- Brian Kearney (Kildare)

Carlow GAA
Dublin GAA
Kildare GAA
Kilkenny GAA
Laois GAA
Longford GAA
Louth GAA
Meath GAA
Offaly GAA
Westmeath GAA
Wexford GAA
Wicklow GAA