Fáilte chuig leinstergaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil Comhairle Laighean CLG

St Loman’s And Moorefield Advance To Club SFC Final

November 26th, 2017

O’Moore Park in Portlaoise will host the first ever Leinster Club Senior Football Championship final between clubs from Kildare and Westmeath on Sunday, 10th December.

St Loman’s of Mullingar and Moorefield from Newbridge came through tough battles on Sunday, 26th November.

Moorefield previously won the provincial club championship in 2006, but it will be a first ever appearance in the final for St Loman’s.

At TEG Cusack Park, St Loman’s defeated Simonstown Gaels of Meath by 0-13 to 1-8. The omens didn’t look good for the three-in-a-row Westmeath champions after 15 minutes when they trailed by 1-4 to 0-0.

An improved second quarter saw them trail by 1-6 to 0-6 to the interval, with Ken Casey, Paul Sharry and John Heslin coming to the fore.

St Loman’s went on to dominate the second half, hitting six more points without reply, the highlight of which came from substitute Conradh Reilly, who put them ahead for the first time.

Simonstown launched a late comeback with a couple of well-taken points, but Kieran Lynam had the last say for St Loman’s, who deservedly marched on.

Meanwhile, at Joule Park in Aughrim, Moorefield brought an end to Rathnew’s run with a 2-13 to 2-7 victory.

Having edged past Portlaoise in the previous round, Moorefield got off to the perfect start with a goal from Niall Hurley Lynch. But Rathnew fought back and by the interval the sides were tied at 1-5 apiece.

Despite being reduced to 14 men, Moorefield enjoyed the better of the second half exchanges, with Eanna O’Connor, who finished with 0-8, chipping in with some crucial frees. And they finished on a high note with their second goal from Mark Dempsey.

Carlow GAA
Dublin GAA
Kildare GAA
Kilkenny GAA
Laois GAA
Longford GAA
Louth GAA
Meath GAA
Offaly GAA
Westmeath GAA
Wexford GAA
Wicklow GAA