Fáilte chuig leinstergaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil Comhairle Laighean CLG

Convincing Win For Kilkenny In Under 21 Final

July 5th, 2017


Bord Gais Energy Leinster U-21 HC Final

Kilkenny 0-30 Wexford 1-14

The senior team may not have reached the provincial final this season, but Kilkenny have now secured Leinster Under 21 and Minor Championship silverware in the past four days.

On Wednesday evening, 5th July, Eddie Brennan’s U-21s were far too strong for Wexford at Nowlan Park, and enjoyed their first success at this grade since 2012.

Wexford were trailing even before the Brian Quigley was sent off in the 19th minute but once they suffered this blow, their caused was doomed.

The Slaney-siders conceded three early points but drew level when Stephen O’Gorman opened their account with a seventh minute goal.

But with Richie Leahy and free-taker Alan Murphy on target, Kilkenny soon led by 0-8 to 1-1 and they effortlessly pulled further clear with the numerical advantage.

By half time, they enjoyed an eight point lead – 0-17 to 1-6, with Billy Ryan and Liam Blanchfield among those who floated over scores.

Kilkenny were never threatened in the second half and a crowd of over 6,000 saw the home side continued to dominate with several players contributing to their impressive final tally of 30 points.

Kilkenny Scorers: Richie Leahy 0-5; Alan Murphy 0-5f (5f); Luke Scanlon 0-4; James Bergin 0-3 (3f); Jason Cleere 0-3; Billy Ryan, Sean Morrissey, John Donnelly 0-2 each; Liam Blanchfield, Pat Lyng, Eoin Kenny, Shane Walsh 0-1.

Wexford Scorers: Joe Coleman 0-5 (5f); Stephen O’Gorman 1-0; John Doyle 0-2 (1f); Cathal Dunbar, Rory O’Connor 0-2 each; Joe O’Connor, Cormac Moore, Darren Codd 0-1 each.

Kilkenny: Darren Brennan; Michael Cody, Conor Delaney, James Burke; Darren Mullen, Jason Cleere, Tommy Walsh; Luke Scanlon, Pat Lyng; Alan Murphy, John Donnelly, Sean Morrissey; Richie Leahy, Liam Blanchfield, Billy Ryan.

Subs: Ryan Bergin for Burke (31), James Bergin for Murphy (39), Eoin Kenny for Blanchfield (44), John Walsh for Ryan (50), Shane Walsh for Donnelly (57).

Wexford: Darragh Hughes; Conor Firman, Darren Byrne, Shane Reck; Brian Quigley, Aaron Maddock, Gary Molloy; Joe O’Connor, Rowan White; Sam Kelly, Rory O’Connor, Joe Coleman; Cathal Dunbar, Stephen O’Gorman, Harry O’Connor.

Subs: Jake Firman for Kelly (31), Darren Codd for H. O’Connor (35), John Doyle for Coleman (40), Cormac Moore for White (45), Darragh Pepper for O’Gorman (48).

Referee: Patrick Murphy (Carlow)

Carlow GAA
Dublin GAA
Kildare GAA
Kilkenny GAA
Laois GAA
Longford GAA
Louth GAA
Meath GAA
Offaly GAA
Westmeath GAA
Wexford GAA
Wicklow GAA