Fáilte chuig leinstergaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil Comhairle Laighean CLG

Wins for Offaly and Westmeath U20’s

April 7th, 2022

EirGrid Leinster GAA U20 Football Championship Round 1

Offaly 3-7 Louth 0-13

Westmeath 4-12 Wicklow 2-13

Holders Offaly remained cool and composed to eventually defeat Louth 3-7 to 0-13 in a dramatic EirGrid Leinster U20 Football Championship encounter at Faithful Fields.

Louth produced a gutsy display, but Offaly were able to pounce for important goals to secure a hard earned victory.

Visitors Louth settled impressively edging 0-5 to 0-3 ahead before Offaly struck for a 15th minute goal courtesy of Darragh Flynn.

Louth responded to edge 0-7 to 1-3 in front, but Keith O’Neill’s 21st minute penalty ensured Offaly led again.

When the interval rolled around Offaly departed armed with a slender 2-4 to 0-9 advantage.

After the interval it was similarly tight and interesting with Jamie Guing’s 49th minute major a critical score.

Throughout the match Kyle McElroy, Dylan McKeown, Ben Collier, and Beanon Corrigan landed splendid points for Louth, but Offaly advanced.

In Baltinglass Westmeath enjoyed a 4-12 to 2-13 success over Wicklow.

A lively encounter throughout, Wicklow accumulated a 1-6 to 0-3 lead by the 18th minute following JP Nolan’s early goal.

Senan Baker replied with a Westmeath goal, but Wicklow still went in at the break 1-9 to 1-5 ahead.

Two minutes into the second period Seán Leech grabbed a vital goal for Westmeath.

Tommy Keogh provided a goal for a determined Wicklow outfit, who continued to cause Westmeath some problems.

Matthew Whittaker added a third Westmeath goal in the 40th minute to steer his team into a narrow 3-7 to 2-9 lead.

It was tight in the closing stages with Leech sharp for the midlanders, who gleaned an encouraging victory.

Carlow GAA
Dublin GAA
Kildare GAA
Kilkenny GAA
Laois GAA
Longford GAA
Louth GAA
Meath GAA
Offaly GAA
Westmeath GAA
Wexford GAA
Wicklow GAA