Fáilte chuig leinstergaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil Comhairle Laighean CLG

Naas Return To Br Bosco Final Again

February 3rd, 2023

Leinster GAA Br Bosco Senior Football ‘A’ Semi-Final:

Naas CBS 1-7

Colaiste Choilm 0-8

Naas CBS remain on course for their third Leinster P.P. Schools Senior Football ‘A’ title in a row after surviving a second half comeback by Colaiste Choilm, Tullamore at Ratheniska on Friday afternoon.

It appeared that the Kildare school’s stranglehold on the Br Bosco Cup may be coming to an end as they endured a scoreless opening 20 minutes of the second half. Colaiste Choilm came surging back from a 1-3 to 0-3 half time deficit to edge ahead with four unanswered points.

But they were left to rue some poor wides from play and placed balls. Naas CBS held their nerve and hit back with four unanswered scores of their own in the closing ten minutes to ensure they advanced to meeting Moate Community School in the final.

The reigning champions settled quickly in this semi-final and an intricate move resulted in a coolly finished goal by Daire Gilmartin after only three minutes.

Naas CBS almost raised a second green flag 60 seconds later when Fionn McCarthy crashed a shot off the crossbar.

Their wing back Daniel Hamill had an excellent first half surging up the left side of the pitch and he chipped in with their first point in the tenth minute.

Colaiste Choilm struggled to make inroads in a nervy start, but settled down after Jack Connolly converted a mark and Niall Furlong followed up with a fine point from play.

For the amount of possession they held, Naas CBS were probably a little disappointed with their slender 1-1 to 0-2 advantage after 20 minutes.

But Ryan Sinkey came to the fore with two superb points on the run for the Kildare side; scores that were sandwiched by an excellent free for Colaiste Choilm from Ryan Kenny.

There were two distinct periods of dominance in the second half. Corner forward Jack Connolly caught fire for Colaiste Choilm, slotting over a free and then two from play in the third quarter. These efforts brought them level for the first time and hopes of a famous victory for the Offaly lads increased when Luke Bourke edged them ahead in the 48th minute.

Naas CBS didn’t panic, however. Eventually they upped the tempo again and Stephen Kelly, Ryan Sinkey and Tom Kelly (free) put them back in control in a blistering period between the 50th and 54th minutes.

Colaiste Choilm piled on the pressure but couldn’t find the target from frees, and Callum Barrett gave Naas CBS three points’ breathing space near the end.

Robbie Gallagher floated over an injury-time free for Colaiste Choilm and they threw everything at their opponents in the dying moments, but Naas CBS held out and now have a final to look forward to again next week.


Naas CBS Scorers: Daire Gilmartin 1-0; Ryan Sinkey 0-3; Daniel Hamill, Stephen Kelly, Callum Barrett, Tom Kelly (f) 0-1 each.

Coláiste Choilm Scorers: Jack Connolly (1f, 1m) 0-4; Ryan Kenny (f), Niall Furlong, Luke Bourke, Robbie Gallagher (f) 0-1 each.

Naas CBS: Fintan Quinn; Niall Cramer, Charlie Murphy, Cian Boran; Daniel Hamill, Eoin Lawlor, Evan O’Brian; Austin Brennan, Tom Kelly; Fionn McCarthy, Carl Lennox, Evan Gilmartin; Stephen Kelly, Callum Barrett, Ryan Sinkey.

Subs: Jamie McGuirk for O’Brien (44); Daire Gilmartin for O’Reilly (49); Callum Barrett for Lennox (52); Liam O’Reilly for Murphy (55); Finn Ryan for McCarthy (58).

Colaiste Choilm: Sean Kavanagh; James Kelly, Ryan Conway, Ben Heffernan; Jack Daly, Ter Guinan, Gary Merriman; Cillian Martin, Cillian Bourke; Luke Bourke, Ryan Kenny, Dan Bourke; Jack Connolly, Robbie Gallagher, Niall Furlong.

Subs: Brian Malone for Merriman (27); Patrick Kenna for Kelly (HT); Stephen Doran for Kenny (46).

Referee: Des Cooney (Laois).

Carlow GAA
Dublin GAA
Kildare GAA
Kilkenny GAA
Laois GAA
Longford GAA
Louth GAA
Meath GAA
Offaly GAA
Westmeath GAA
Wexford GAA
Wicklow GAA