• GAA Museum - Club offer September & October 2019

Fáilte chuig leinstergaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil Comhairle Laighean CLG

Galway Are Champions Again After Thrilling Replay

July 8th, 2018

Leinster Senior Hurling Championship final replay

Galway 1-28, Kilkenny 3-15

Galway retained the Bob O’Keeffe Cup with a second Leinster Senior Hurling Championship victory over Kilkenny this season – and, who knows, another duel could be on the cards in August.

The new-look championship featured a home win for Galway in the round-robin series and an exciting draw at Croke Park last Sunday.

Semple Stadium hosted the replay and didn’t disappoint either. A game which Galway threatened to win at their ease turned into a pulsating contest in front of over 25,000 fans.

The Tribesmen fired into a 1-9 to 0-1 lead before the 20th minute, but Kilkenny came storming back and got within a single score with just over 15 minutes remaining, before the reigning champions lifted their game again and surged ahead for a deserved win.

Full forward Jonathan Glynn scored Galway’s first goal and all of their six starting forwards got on the scoresheet in a blistering opening, which saw them lead by 1-15 to 0-6 at one stage.

Ger Aylward kicked the ball to the net to give Kilkenny a glimmer of hope, but it was still 1-16 to 1-8 at the break.

Substitutes Colin Fennelly and Richie Hogan played key roles in the Kilkenny revival after the resumption, with the experienced duo scoring a goal apiece.

Eventually, the gap was cut to just one – 1-20 to 3-13 – and Galway were under huge pressure. But Joe Canning and Cathal Mannion answered the call and they hit five of the game’s last six points to bring an end to a thrilling championship.

Scorers for Galway: Joe Canning 0-10 (6f) Cathal Mannion 0-6, Conor Whelan 0-4, Jonathan Glynn 1-1, Niall Burke 0-2, Aidan Harte 0-2, Joseph Cooney 0-1, Conor Cooney 0-1, J Flynn 0-1

Scorers for Kilkenny: TJ Reid 0-9 (6f, 1 ’65) Colin Fennelly 1-1, Richie Hogan 1-1, Ger Aylward 1-0, Joey Holden 0-1, Conor Fogarty 0-1, James Maher 0-1, John Donnelly 0-1,

GALWAY: James Skehill; Adrian Tuohey, Daithi Burke, John Hanbury; Padraig Mannion, Gearoid McInerney, Aidan Harte; Johnny Coen, David Bourke; Joseph Cooney, Joe Canning, Niall Burke; Conor Whelan, Jonathan Glynn, Cathal Mannion. Subs: Conor Cooney for Niall Burke (46), Jason Flynn for Joseph Cooney (61), Sean Loftus for David Burke (69)

KILKENNY: Eoin Murphy; Paul Murphy, Padraig Walsh; Paddy Deegan, Joey Holden, Cillian Buckley, Enda Morrissey; Conor Fogarty, James Maher; John Donnelly, TJ Reid, Richie Leahy; Billy Ryan, Walter Walsh, Ger Aylward. Subs: Liam Blanchfield for Walter Walsh (18), Richie Hogan for Billy Ryan (half-time), Colin Fennelly for Richie Leahy (half-time), Robert Lennon for Enda Morrissey (48), Luke Scanlon for John Donnelly (62)

Carlow GAA
Dublin GAA
Kildare GAA
Kilkenny GAA
Laois GAA
Longford GAA
Louth GAA
Meath GAA
Offaly GAA
Westmeath GAA
Wexford GAA
Wicklow GAA