• Back Where They All Belong LEADERBOARD

Fáilte chuig leinstergaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil Comhairle Laighean CLG

Archer To The Fore As Dublin Win Out

July 22nd, 2019

Last Friday Dublin claimed the 2019 EIrGrid Leinster U20 Football Championship. The Capital men were clinical right throughout as they claimed a convicing 13 point victory over Laois in Tullamore.

Dublin scored the opening four points of the game to give themselves an early lead, with Karl Lynch Bissett, Sean Lambe, Ross McGarry and Ciaran Archer finding the target, before Diarmuid Whelan opened Laois’s account. Michael Doran and Archer then traded scores, before Laois registered four successive points to give themselves the lead for the first time in the game. Following this Dublin regained their dominance and were 3 points up when Archer bagged his first goal of the game, when turning over a short kickout. This left Dublin in the lead at the break 1-11 to 1-08.

After the interval Dublin retook control and virtually put the tie to bed when bagging a second goal in the 42nd minute, with Archer once again doing the damage. This was quickly followed by their 3rd goal of the day when Kieran Kennedy fired home. From here on out there was only going to be one result. A late penalty by the on fire Archer put seal to an impress performance by Tom Grey’s charges. Laois battled until the end and kicked an impressive tally of 17 points that on any other day would have given them a great chance of victory. Dublin now advance to face the Connacht Champions Galway.

Scorers for Dublin: Ciaran Archer 3-8 (7fs, 1-0 pen), James Doran 0-3, Kieran Kennedy 1-0, Brian O’Leary 0-2, Ross McGarry 0-2 (1f), Karl Lynch Bissett 0-1, Niall O’Leary 0-1, Sean Lambe 0-1.

Scorers for Laois: Diarmuid Whelan 0-8 (6f), Alan Kinsella 0-2, Mark Barry 0-2 (1f), Jack Owens 0-1, Eoin Dunne 0-1, Niall Dunne 0-1, Michael Doran 0-1, Ronan Coffey 0-1.

DUBLIN: David O’Hanlon; Darren Maher, Daire Newcome, Eoin O’Dea; Kieran Kennedy, Neil Matthews, Sean Lambe; Peadar O Cofaigh Byrne, Donal Ryan; Niall O’Leary, Karl Lynch Bissett, James Doran; Brian O’Leary, Ciaran Archer, Ross McGarry.

Subs: David Lacey for Donal Ryan (43), Harry Ladd for Brian O’Leary (55), Aaron Lynch for Darren Maher (55), Conor Kinsella for Eoin O’Dea (57) Mark Lavin for Niall O’Leary (60), Sean Foran for Kieran Kennedy (60).

LAOIS: Matthew Byron; Michael Dowling, Seamus Lacey, Alex Mohan; Colin Slevin, Sean O’Flynn, Dean Brophy; Robert Tyrell, Eoin Dunne; Mark Barry, Michael Doran, Ronan Coffey; Alan Kinsella, Dan McCormack, Diarmuid Whelan.

Subs: Jack Owens for Michael Doran (36), Niall Dunne for Dan McCormack (38), Jason Maher for Ronan Coffey (48), Kevin Byrne for Lacey (55), Ross Brennan for Brophy (58), Jack Lacey for Mohan (58).

Carlow GAA
Dublin GAA
Kildare GAA
Kilkenny GAA
Laois GAA
Longford GAA
Louth GAA
Meath GAA
Offaly GAA
Westmeath GAA
Wexford GAA
Wicklow GAA