Fáilte chuig leinstergaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil Comhairle Laighean CLG

Wexford Await Winners Of Galway And Offaly

June 11th, 2017

On the first Sunday in July, Croke Park will host either a first ever Wexford v Galway Leinster Senior Hurling Championship final, or a first final between the Slaney-siders and Offaly since 2004.

Going on recent form and the result when these counties met at the same stage last year, Galway are strong favourites to advance when they take on the Faithful County at O’Moore Park this Sunday.

With the Allianz League title and a comfortable first round win over Dublin already under their belts, Galway are hurling like genuine All-Ireland contenders again.

Offaly, despite their struggles in recent seasons, were boosted by survival in Division 1B of the Allianz League in April and enjoyed a dramatic victory over Westmeath on 27th May.

But the Faithful County realise a massive effort is required if they are to close the gap between their current status and that of the top hurling sides.

Twelve months ago, Galway defeated Offaly by 2-19 to 2-9 at O’Moore Park, before losing the final to Kilkenny.

But they remain of the top contenders in a wide-open race for the Liam MacCarthy Cup. They easily defeated Dublin at Bord na Móna O’Connor Park by 2-28 to 1-17 , with the goals scored by Conor Cooney and Jason Flynn.

The previous evening, Offaly came from behind to defeat Westmeath by 4-15 to 1-20, with Shane Dooley hitting 3-8 and the other goal netted by Emmet Nolan.

Throw-in at O’Moore Park this Sunday, 18th June, is at 2pm.

Carlow GAA
Dublin GAA
Kildare GAA
Kilkenny GAA
Laois GAA
Longford GAA
Louth GAA
Meath GAA
Offaly GAA
Westmeath GAA
Wexford GAA
Wicklow GAA