Fáilte chuig leinstergaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil Comhairle Laighean CLG

Exciting Quarter Final Draw in Top Oil Senior A Schools Hurling Championship

November 22nd, 2017

22 November 2017; Kilkenny manager Brian Cody and Regional Top Oil Manager James Fitzgerald with, from left, Ciaran Whelan of Borris Vocational School, Co. Carlow, Jack Devereux of St Peter’s College, Co. Wexford, Conor Murphy of St Kieran’s College, Co. Kilkenny and Dylan Morrissey of Good Counsel College, Co. Wexford in attendance at the Top Oil Leinster Senior A Hurling Championship Launch at St Kieran’s College in Kilkenny. Photo by Matt Browne/Sportsfile

The battle lines have been drawn in the Top Oil Corn Uí Dhuill for the Leinster GAA Schools’ Senior A Hurling Championship.

In what will be the Centenary of the first ever staging of the Corn Uí Dhuill, holders St Kieran’s College have been drawn away in an all-Kilkenny clash with Castlecomer CS.

Last year’s beaten finalists, Kilkenny CBS, have been drawn away in another difficult assignment against St Peter’s College in Wexford.

The draw was performed in the halls of reigning champions St Kieran’s College today by Kilkenny Senior Hurling manager Brian Cody – himself a Kieran’s past pupil. In the 1971/72 season Cody was a Leinster and All-Ireland schools winning captain and he won the Corn Uí Dhuill crown again in the 1972/73 season.

In a break from tradition these games will not be straight knockout. In a move designed to boost hurling development there will be a losers group for the beaten teams in these games with a chance to win their way back into the semi-finals.

The draw in full is:

Top Oil Corn Uí Dhuill Leinster Senior A

St Brendan’s, Birr v Borris VS

St Peter’s Wexford v Kilkenny CBS

Good Counsel, Wexford v Group Team Winners

Castlecomer C.S. v St Kieran’s College

Matches take place Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Carlow GAA
Dublin GAA
Kildare GAA
Kilkenny GAA
Laois GAA
Longford GAA
Louth GAA
Meath GAA
Offaly GAA
Westmeath GAA
Wexford GAA
Wicklow GAA