Fáilte chuig leinstergaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil Comhairle Laighean CLG

Colaiste Choilm Finish Strongly To Capture Leinster Title

March 8th, 2018

Top Oil Leinster Post Primary Schools’ Senior Hurling ‘B’ Final:

Colaiste Choilm, Tullamore 2-12, Colaiste Eoin, Dublin 2-8

By Brian Lowry

Colaiste Choilm were crowned the Top Oil Leinster Post Primary Schools Senior ‘B’ hurling champions, with a stirring final 20 minutes from the Offaly school seeing them over the line.

Colaiste Eoin of Dublin were favourites going into the game but having led by four points with five minutes gone in the second  half, the Dublin outfit played second fiddle for the remainder of the game at Portlaoise.

Colaiste Choilm showed tremendous battling qualities and no shortage of hurling skill either. Trailing by four points with 25 minutes to go, they held Colaiste Eoin scoreless for the remainder of the game and attacked the scoreboard themselves with a goal from Mark Dillon seven minutes from time proving the game clinching score.

Playing with the wind in the opening half, Colaiste Eoin had the better of the opening exchanges but 1-2 in the space of three minutes from the Tullamore outfit left them 1-3 to 0-2 ahead on 11 minutes.

Billy Fogarty grabbed the goal after he latched onto a long and hopeful ball into the danger area.

Colaiste Choilm were then rocked with the concession of two goals in two minutes with Donnacha O’Muireadaigh and Jack O Tuama finding the net for the Dublin champions as they led 2-3 to 1-4 with 10 minutes left to half time.

Just as it looked as if Colaiste Eoin might extend their lead before the break, Colaiste Choilm showed their mettle with two points from Brian Duignan and one from Billy Fogarty leaving them just one adrift at half time as Colaiste Eoin led 2-5 to 1-7.

Man of the match Kevin McDermott receives his award from Tadhg Doran, Leinster GAA.

Now with the aid of the breeze, Colaiste Choilm needed to get off to a good start but instead it was the Dublin school that tagged on three more scores by the 34th minute, the pick of which from centre back Tom O’hEachtigherin as they led 2-8 to 1-7.

From this juncture, the game changed. While the Offaly men hit their far share of wides, they also started the chip away at the lead. Duignan with two more frees and two outstanding points from Emmet Curley brought it back to a level game with nine minutes to go.

Duignan then landed a free from inside his own half to put them in front before Mark Dillon sealed the deal seven minutes from time after he reacted quickest to a long Diarmuid Egan delivery to find the net and leave Colaiste Choilm the deserving champions by four points.

After the match, Colaiste Choilm wing forward Kevin McDermott was awarded the man of the match award for an all action display. The Offaly school now go on to represent Leinster in the All Ireland semi final against Portumna next Wednesday.


Colaiste Choilm: Brian Duignan 0-7 frees, Billy Fogarty 1-1, Mark Dillon 1-0, Emmet Curley 0-2, Cathal O’Meara and Ciaran Burke 0-1 each.

Colaiste Eoin: Donnacha O Muireadaigh 1-2, Jack O Tuama 1-0, Seamus O Fiachna 0-3 frees, Tom OhEachtigherin, Des Dugain, Dara Puirseil 0-1 each.

COLAISTE CHOILM: Conor Brophill; Diarmuid Egan, Ciaran Burke, Sean Beatty; Jack O’Brien, Luke Egan, Ross Ravenhill; Cathal O’Meara, Emmet Curley; Kevin McDermott, Aaron Flanagan, Cathal Brady; Mark Dillon, Brian Duignan, Billy Fogarty. Subs: Ciaran Egan (for Emmet Curley inj 55m), Barry Cleary (for Cathal Brady 58m).

COLAISTE EOIN: Eamon Mac Giobuin; Conor Cinnseallach, Cian Mac Daibheid, Eoghan O’Callaghan; Tom  Stakelum, Tom OhEachtigherin, Sean O Cinnseallaigh; Donal MacDuinsleibhe, Des Dugain; Seamus OFiachna, Fionn O Ceallaigh, Jack O Tuama; Dara Puirseil, Padraig Puirseil, Donnacha O Muireadaigh. Subs: Daire O Ceallachain (for Jack O Tuama 20m), Padhraic O Luinneachain (for Daire O Ceallachain 44m), Iain O hEithir (for Donnacha O Muireadaigh 46m),

Referee: David Hickey (Carlow).

Carlow GAA
Dublin GAA
Kildare GAA
Kilkenny GAA
Laois GAA
Longford GAA
Louth GAA
Meath GAA
Offaly GAA
Westmeath GAA
Wexford GAA
Wicklow GAA